another publication by IMAGE asia

The 14th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2016

  Langkawi, Malaysia

The Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) 2016, held from 11 to 16 January 2016, turned out to be another exceptionally exciting and successful regatta with 37 entries from local and international yachts.

Alive’s first time at the RLIR was rewarded with the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy for the Racing Class, with Millenium Racing coming in second and Oi!, last year’s winner, in third place. The young all-Malaysian crew of Team Ulumulu managed to slip into fourth, ahead of Jelik and Trader.

Fujin, skippered by Mick Tilden, stole the show to take the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy over Uranus, Emagine, Megazio and Insanity in the IRC 1 Class.

This year, the IRC-2 yachts competed for their own trophy – the RLIR IRC-2 Challenge Trophy – which was claimed by Mata Hari. RLIR regular Phoenix had to settle for second place ahead of newbie Foreign Affair.

Singapore Management University (SMU), skippered by Koh Ling Ying took the Langkawi Sports Trophy. The new multihull in the lineup, WOW skippered by David Liddell won the Malaysia Multihull Challenge Cup while Sophia skippered by Phil Auger and Astrid Graham won the RLYC Commodore’s Cup.

The Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship Award was presented to Manta Blu for its competitiveness, fair racing and comradeship, both on water and land, in memory of the late founding chairman and the first Commodore of the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC), Almarhum Tunku Tan Sri Abdullah Tuanku Abdul Rahman.

Kedah Regency Council Member HH Dato’ Seri DiRaja Tan Sri Tunku Puteri Intan Safinaz officiated at the RLIR 2016 Day 1 races and graced the opening dinner on Tuesday, 12 January 2016 and presented the awards for Race Day 1.

En. Saidi Bundan, representing the Director General of Tourism Malaysia was the guest of honour for the closing ceremony and overall Awards Presentation on 16 January 2016. He presented the Overall Series Winners awards.

RLYC Commodore YM Tunku Dato’ Yaacob presented the trophies to the winners of the Prime Minister’s Challenge, LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy, the RLIR IRC2 Challenge Cup, the Langkawi Sports Class, the Malaysia Multihull Challenge, RLYC Commodore’s Challenge and the Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship Award.

RLIR 2016 is grateful for the continued support of the Tourism Malaysia and Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia as well as its commercial sponsors and supporters.

A big ‘thank you’ to our international and regional media partners; IMAGE asia, SEA Yachting, Sail-World Asia, Yacht Style, HOMME, TRAXXfm Radio & RTM and Spectrum Outdoor.

The Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) 2016 is organised by the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC) and sanctioned by the ISAF and Malaysian Sailing Association (MSA), and supported by the Ministry of Youth and Sports, Malaysia. The RLIR is part of the Asian Yachting Circuit.

RLYC and RLIR 2016 organisers would like to take this opportunity to thank all participants, partners and sponsors, media and government agencies for their support that contributed to a successful regatta.

Following on this success, we look forward to continuing these ongoing relationships for another year to organise the 15th regatta which will be held from 9 to 14 January 2017. Until then, fair winds to all for another regatta filled with excitement and challenges both on and off the water.

Royal Langkawi Yacht Club

IMAGE asia is proud to support Royal Langkawi International Regatta as a Media Partner.

  Photo gallery : The 14th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2016