another publication by IMAGE asia

Whisky 101

  Boat Lagoon

May 2019

Whisky is probably the most recognised spirit in the world and is manufactured in over 20 countries under that generic name, and a lot more under regional names. It is also the most discussed form of alcohol after wine, with just as many opinions – and pretensions.

Once the preserve of the medical community as a cure for colic and smallpox, whisky (or whiskey) is made from a fermented grain mash, usually barley or wheat, but it can also be maize or rye, which is then aged.

Scottish Whisky can only be made in Scotland and must be aged in wooden barrels, normally oak that has been used previously to store bourbon or sherry, for a minimum of three years.

The different varieties of barley used give different whiskies their unique flavours, along with how it is prepared, the barrel that the whisky is aged in and the aging period. No artificial colourings are permitted so the different colours you see in whisky bottles are all from the wooden barrels.

There are six recognised regions from which Scottish Whisky can come. They are: Highlands, Speyside, Islay, Campbeltown, Lowlands and the Islands.

According to some, the best whiskies are aged single malts from a single cask or barrel. There would usually be only around 250 bottles produced, making that flavour profile totally unique. The next time the cask is used it will have a different profile.

In reality, the best whisky is the one that you have in your hand at the moment and are about to drink. Sláinte

Content provided by Whisgars Tasting Room Phuket, Phuket Boat Lagoon, Phuket’s only dedicated whisky cigar lounge.

  Photo gallery : Whisky 101

Annandale Distillery – Lowlands

Annandale Distillery – Lowlands

Annandale Distillery – Lowlands

Annandale Distillery – Lowlands