Restaurant table booking

Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2017

Fifteen Years and Counting

  Langkawi, Malaysia


The 15th edition of the Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) will take place from 9 to 14 January 2017 in and around the mystical islands of Langkawi, Malaysia. Organised by the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC), this annual event attracts sailors from the world over vying for the coveted trophies as well as the Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship Award, presented in memory of the regatta’s founder, the late Prince Abdullah, to the best team voted by the participants for its competitiveness, fair racing and comradeship on land and at sea.

Yachts competing in RLIR2017 will race in eight different classes; Racing, IRC 1, IRC 2, Sports Boat, Multihull, White Sail, Ocean Rover and Club Cruising Classes and entries before 30 November 2016 will offer participants special early-bird rates. The races are held in a combination of harbour and open sea courses, with one day set aside for the round-the-island race.

Teams participating in the RLIR 2017 will be competing for the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy (Racing Class), the RLYC Commodore’s Cup (Club Class Cruisers), the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy (IRC 1 Class), the RLIR-IRC 2 Challenge Trophy (IRC 2 Class), the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup (Multihull Class) and Langkawi Sports Trophy (Sports Boat Class).

In 2016, Alive’s debut RLIR was rewarded with the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy for the Racing Class. Fujin stole the show to take the LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy while Mata Hari claimed the RLIR IRC-2 Challenge Trophy. SMU took home the Langkawi Sports Trophy for the Sports Boats Class and WOW won six of the seven Multihull races to take the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup.

The RLYC Commodore’s Challenge Cup for the Club Cruisers stayed with Sophia while the 105-year-old Eveline won the Ocean Rover title, and Chantique made a clean sweep of the White Sail Class. The Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship Award was presented to Manta Blu.

The participants for the 2016 RLIR will be welcomed into the all-new RLYC, which has been redeveloped to include a bigger clubhouse and a new three-storey complex that will house offices as well as retail and lifestyle businesses. The RLYC marina has also been upgraded, expanding the berthing capacity from a 200-berth marina to 250 berths. The expansion includes six berths for superyachts up to 80m. The new superyacht berths are fitted with a power supply of up to 400Amps.

The Royal Langkawi International Regatta was inaugurated in 2003 by the then Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tun Abdullah Hj. Ahmad Badawi and is the brainchild of the Founder of Royal Langkawi Yacht Club, the late Prince Abdullah. The annual RLIR is an event sanctioned by World Sailing and Malaysian Sailing Association (MSA); and supported by the Ministry of Tourism & Culture and the Ministry of Youth and Sports, Malaysia, as well as the Kedah State Government. The RLIR is part of the Asian Yachting Circuit annual calendar.

IMAGE asia is proud to support Royal Langkawi International Regatta as a Media Partner.

  Photo gallery : Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2017